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Sealed Ship Containers

A sealed ship container is defined as containerized freight being transported to or from a
designated seaport and has or will be transported by marine shipment for International
trade with the original unbroken seal or a replacement seal affixed by an authorized
government agency.

A sealed ship container may qualify for a permit if:

> All dimensions of width, height and length do not exceed limits as specified in North
Carolina General Statutes, and

Traveling to or from a designated seaport (either in state or out of state), and

Has been or will be transported intact by marine shipment, and

Power unit is licensed for 80,000 Ibs., and

Vehicle/vehicle combination has at least five axles, and

Proper documentation (shipper’s bill of lading and/or trucking bill of lading) of sealed
commodity being transported is available for enforcement inspection.
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Annual Permit

Gross Weights -
S axles - 112,000 Ibs. (94,500 Ibs. — wheelbase less than 51°)
(Maximum of 10 specific routes with exact origin, detailed route of travel and exact destination)

6 axles - 120,000 Ibs. (108,000 Ibs. — wheelbase less than 51°)
(One specific route with exact origin, detailed route of travel and exact destination)

7 axles - 132,000 Ibs. (122,000 Ibs. — wheelbase less than 51")
(One specific route with exact origin, detailed route of travel and exact destination)

or
90,000 lbs. gross weight with a minimum of 5 axles and a minimum of a 51’ wheelbase — good on all
roads, posted roads and posted bridges must be observed. (A combination with an extreme wheelbase
less than 51’ does not qualify for this permit.)

Axle Weights -

Steer 20,000 Ibs.

Single 25,000 lbs.

Tandem 50,000 Ibs.

Tridem 60,000 Ibs.

Four or more grouping 68,000 Ibs.

Width- 8'6” (legal)

Height- 13'6” (legal)

Length- Legal limit as allowed by North Carolina General Statutes
Fee- $100 per vehicle

Identified-  Truck license and last five digits of truck serial number
Issued- To the registered owner of the power unit, if leased, copy of lease is required.
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Single Trip Permit

Gross Weights -

5 axles - 112,000 Ibs. (94,500 Ibs. — wheelbase less than 51°)
6 axles - 120,000 Ibs. (108,000 Ibs. — wheelbase less than 51°)
7 axles - 132,000 Ibs. (122,000 Ibs. — wheelbase less than 51’)

Axle Weights -

Steer 20,000 Ibs.

Single 25,000 Ibs.

Tandem 50,000 Ibs.

Tridem 60,000 Ibs.

Four or more grouping 68,000 Ibs.

Width - 8'6" (legal)

Height - 13'6” (legal)

Length - Legal limit as allowed by North Carolina General Statutes
Fee - $12 (overweight only)

Identified -  Truck license and last five digits of truck serial number
Issued - To the registered owner of the power unit

Travel- Permitted vehicle combination qualifies for continuous travel (24 hrs/7days/365 days).



